Skip to content

Did You Know?: Dairy

March 13, 2012

I am a product of the 90s, era of the “everything low-fat”. Now I’m starting to learn about the importance of eating healthy fats, but there was still one thing that stumped me: dairy. Full fat, or not full fat? Diet and fitness gurus almost invariably recommend the low-fat, and holistic nutritionists settle for nothing less than full fat. Ok. Cool. But try as I may, I couldn’t find a definitive reason why full fat was best.

I found this video from The Nate Berkus Show, of all things, which features Dr. Oz on  how to Live Well at 40. Well, I’m not 40 yet, but he answered my question. (The video wouldn’t embed properly, so watch it here)

It only spent maybe 2 mins out of the fridge for this photoshoot, I swear!

Essentially, when you take the fat out of milk, the sugar content gets concentrated, and the sugar is actually worse for you than the fat would have been. So enjoy your cheese that tastes like cheese! May we recommend Black River?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

