Skip to content

Say What?!?

April 10, 2012

Last year, I read an article on the 43 Most Mispronounced Food Words. I like to think that I have a decent handle on the English language, but some of them surprised me. I’ve noticed, too, several commonly mispronounced words in our store. (I STILL think Pukka Teas are cuter when pronounced Poo-kah, as opposed to the correct Puck-kah).

So I did some research, and here’s my list of commonly mispronounced Better Bulk words (there is some crossover with the 43):

Basil – Bay-zill. Baz-ill is a man’s name, apparently.

Cardamom – There is an “m” on the end. Wikipedia says it can also be Cardamon, but we all know how reliable Wikipedia can be . . .

Chai vs. Chia – Ch-iy is a spice and a tea, Chee-ah is a seed.

Chipotle – Chi-poht-lay. Not that we have much chipotle in store, but there are Chipotle BBQ Beanitos, and Banditos Chipotle BBQ Sauce

Cumin – cue-min. Not one you want to mispronounce

Herb – The list says “erb”, but I’ll accept “h”erb from anyone with a British accent.

Espresso – Ess-press-oh. There is no “x” in this word. Nor is there a “t” in Interac. (NB Lori very kindly pointed out to me that there is indeed a “t” in Interac . . . just not one at the end)

Kamut – cam-oot. A lovely grain.

Kefir – Keh-feer, with the accent on the “feer”. Gesundheit.

Quinoa – Keen-wah. But I’ll still know what you’re looking for when you ask for Kwin-no-ah.

Stevia – There seems to be a difference of opinion on this one, but the YouTube video says “stee-vee-ah”, not “steh-vee-ah”, so that’s what I’ll go with (when I remember)

Turmeric – Ter-meh-rick. There are two “r”s, and both are pronounced. Toom-eric makes me think you want to kill my boss.

Do you have anything to add to the list?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori permalink
    April 10, 2012 3:29 pm

    Er… I think you’ll find there IS a ‘t’ in ‘Interac’. Just not at the end.

  2. Paul permalink
    April 10, 2012 4:03 pm

    Don’t kill Eric! He’s quite nice…

Leave a Reply

